To Mega Therion

Home Page    A New Biography    AC's Occult Societies    Thelema    Kabbalah    Photographs
Dictionary    News Items    Shopping    Useful Links    Contact Us    Freebies    Symbols

Don't miss your opportunity to download the entire content of this site in a handy A4 pdf eBook to read at your leisure.  To get your personal copy of

To Mega Therion, The Life, Times & Magick of Aleister Crowley.

Click HERE for full details.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Ra / Ré Ra is an ancient Egyptian sun god.  By the fifth dynasty he had become a major deity in ancient Egyptian religion, identified primarily with the mid-day sun.  Ra changed over time and in one form or another, he represented the sun at all times of the day.  The chief cult centre of Ra was initially based in Heliopolis (ancient Inunu) meaning "City of the Sun."  In later Egyptian dynastic times, Ra was merged with the god Horus, as Re-Horakhty (many various spellings exist).  When he reached this position of importance in the Egyptian pantheon, he was believed to command not only the sky, but the earth and the underworld.
Ra-Hoor-Khuit Ra-Hoor-Khuit (Egyptian: Ra-Har-Khuti), commonly referred to by the Greek transliteration Ra-Herakhty, means "Ra (who is) Horus on the Horizon."  An appellation of Ra, identifying him with Horus, this name shows the two as manifestations of the singular Solar Force.  Ra-Hoor-Khuit is the speaker in Chapter 3 of The Book of the Law, and is one of the twin aspects of Horus, along with Harpocrates.
Reincarnation A belief that we live more than one lifetime.  Beliefs vary widely.  Some are of the opinion that we always return as the same sex, while others believe it is a system of punishment and reward for actions in our current/previous incarnation(s).  Many believe that we reincarnate to get a full range of every possible human experience to develop our souls.
Remote Influencing See Psychokinesis.
Resh The twentieth letter of the Sacred Alphabet.  It literally means head, has the phonetic value of R, and has a numerical value of 200.  It is further attributed to Sol and the Tarot Trump The Sun.
Retrocognition Basically the opposite of precognition, in this case being able to see into the distant past.
Right-hand Path The terms 'Right-hand Path' and 'Left-hand Path' refer to a claimed separation of two distinct types of religion, the exact meaning of these terms having varied over time.  The modern usage regards religions which value the advancement of the self over other goals are considered to belong to the Left-Hand Path (sometimes referred to as the Dark Path), while those which focus upon the worship of one or more deities and the observance of strict moral codes, as belonging to the Right-hand Path.
Ritual Any act or series of acts/movements performed on a regular basis is a ritual.  Ceremonial Magicians use rituals which may include preparing an area (normally a circle), donning robes, chanting, lighting candles, arranging amulets or talismans in a certain order on an altar and/or themselves, and saying prayers prior to performing the ceremony.
Ritual Magick Ritual Magick is often referred to as Ceremonial or High Magick.  It is a form of spiritual practice performed with the intention of achieving a personal spiritual transformation, or union with the Divine (God), through specially designed ceremonies or rituals.  The general distinction between ritual and ceremony is that a ritual is something that is done, while a ceremony is the way in which that something is done.  However, in general usage, these two terms are usually employed together.
Rosicrucianism An occult secret society supposedly founded in 1407 in Germany by 'Christian Rosenkreutz', who was purported to be under the influence of Egyptian occultism.  In modern times, Rosicrucianism has fragmented into a number of competing organisations promoting variations of the same general occult themes.  Those who study Rosicrucianism are known as Rosicrucians.
Ruah The Zohar tells us that the Ruah division of the soul is considered to be the seat of moral qualities and is sometimes referred to as the ‘Intellectual Spirit’.  Because the emergence of the Ruah, as understood by Kabbalists, is an experience of ‘the spirit poured on us from on high’ (Isaiah, Chapter xxxii, verse 15) the excitement and brightness of the moment may easily mislead us into believing that the task of spiritual development has been completed.  In Kabbalistic theory, a soul can be compared with a chain with one end connected to the brain and the other to a certain spiritual source.  There are five levels of the soul similar to the five links in a chain, each one parallel to the spiritual sphere where it exists: Nefesh (soul), Ruach (spirit), Neshamah (breath), Chayah (life) and Yechidah (singularity).  However, Kabbalists only relate to the three lower links as they currently have no real understanding of the top two.  The three they know of are Nefesh, Ruah and Neshamah.  The Ruah can be considered a connection between the Neshamah and the Nefesh.  It is the cause of feelings and personal qualities.  When applied to a person Ruah comes to mean vital powers or strength.  It is the spirit that sustains a person through illness (Proverbs xviii, 14 ), but the spirit of the troubled person can be crushed (Psalms xxxiv, 18).
Runes Runes are a Norse alphabet developed from characters used for magical purposes.  It was believed to have been discovered by Odin (the chief God in Norse mythology) as he hung upside down for nine days on the 'World Tree'.  There are three commonly known runic alphabets, the 'elder' and 'younger' Futhark (futhark is the transliteration of the first six letters of that alphabet), the Anglo-Saxon, and the Danish.  The Elder Futhark is the oldest of these, and consists of three sets of eight letters.

Return to top of page.

© To Mega Therion